July 22, 2013 Exodus 18:2 – 4

After Moses had sent away his wife Zipporah, his father-in-law Jethro received her and her two sons. One son was named Gershom, for Moses said, “I have become a foreigner in a foreign land”; and the other was named Eliezer, for he said, “My father’s God was my helper; he saved me from the sword of Pharaoh.

As single parents, we can often feel like Moses, as if we are foreigners in a foreign land.  When I became a parent, I planned on having a partner, but when I first separated from my spouse, and knew I had to do this whole parenting thing by myself, I felt lost and alone…in unfamiliar territory.

Although I have become used to being a single parent, it can still be frightening, and each new phase of life can seem like a foreign land, where I do not have a map.

Yet, we are not in this foreign land alone, we have people to rely on, just as Moses did, we have family and friends who can offer us support and advice born of their own experience as parents.  These loved one can help us and guide us through the undiscovered territories of single parenting; those; like Jethro did for Moses.

And above all else, we can be comforted in the knowledge that it is God who walks with us, through the love and care of those around us, and through our faith in the grace that surrounds us all.

Let us Pray:

God, we thank you for walking with us through the journey of single parenting, for making us feel at home in foreign lands by putting good and wise people in our lives, to help us find our way.  Please give us ears to listen to the advice of others and the wisdom to find  the best path to take as we journey through the adventure of single parenting. 

Amen

One thought on “July 22, 2013 Exodus 18:2 – 4

  1. love all of this, interaction with scripture, prayer, brevity, photo, etc. A wonderful place to turn to in our daily life

Leave a Reply

