July 25, 2013; Psalm 138: 3 & 7

In the day I called, you answered me, you increased my strength of soul…though I walk in the midst of trouble you preserve me against the wrath of my enemies; you stretch out your hand, and your right hand delivers me.

 As parents, single or otherwise, we can sometimes find ourselves in deep water, feeling afraid, alone and far from help; but the good news is that we are never alone, and we are never far from the grace of God and the help of others.

Friends and family have given me much advice on parenting (whether I asked for it or not), on subjects like how to bake a cake for a school bake sale, how to be fair when I discipline, where to go for a fun day out, and how to manage those long days of summer vacation, or lazy Saturdays.  Most of all, these people have given me advice that has helped me to keep it simple, which made our lives easier and less stressful.

It is not just family and friends who helped me, there were many times when strangers have stepped in to offer their assistance, when they held a door, helped to carry a bag, or even just gave me a kind look, or supportive word, just when I needed it.

Today, I try to do the same for other parents who are struggling to manage their parenting; to give back the good advice and kindness given to me as I strove to be a best father I could be.

Let us Pray: 

God, help us to remember that you are a source of strength and help in times of trouble.  Thank your constant presence in our lives, both directly and through the love of those around us.  Help us to share this love and the lessons we have learned with our children, our neighbors and strangers, as we journey through our lives together. 

Amen

Leave a Reply

