Tuesday – July 30; Psalm 55:22

Cast your burden on the Lord, and he will sustain you, he will never permit the righteous to be moved.

There have been many evenings (afternoons and even mornings) when I have felt worn out from the responsibilities of being a single parent.  I understand that one does not need to be a “single” to feel worn-out by their parenting responsibilities; however, as a single parent so much fall on our shoulders: cooking, house cleaning, laundry, homework, shopping, chauffeuring, etc.  Not to mention the time and energy we spend just listening to our children, helping them with their problems, comforting their tears, and taking care of them when they are sick.  Even fun times like trips to the park, or hours of play-time can sometimes feel like a chore (although these are good chores to have).

As a father, I am grateful to have these opportunities to bond with my child and to be there for her when she needs me, and sometimes even when she does not.

As a single parent, I have found it sometimes difficult to find time for a break, to get some “me time“; and there were occasions when taking this time for myself felt selfish, as there was just so much that needed to be done, my burdens too heavy.  However, that is why “me time” is important for us, as it can help us to re-charge and be refreshed for our many responsibilities; looking at it this way we could say that NOT taking this “me time“ could be selfish, as it helps us to be better parents.

But how do we find the time, in our busy lives to take a break?  The good news is that these responsibilities we have are not ours to carry alone, we have help always available to us;  for God is with us , there to help us carry our burdens, and giving us people in our lives that can provide us  with a break, a well needed rest, as well as moments of fun and fellowship with other adults.

I have often had friends and family step in to offer me a break, right when I needed one; offering to baby-sit so I could get a night out on my own, setting up a play-date or sleep-over with their kids, or just by volunteering to drive, so I did not have to rush home after work.  Friends have also given me helpful advice and suggestions, and most importantly, a listening ear, when I needed one.

Let us Pray:

God, thank you for giving us the gift of our children; help us to find times of rest in the midst of our busy lives, and to not be reluctant to turn to others for support and help.  Let us remember that though we are raising our children as single parents, that we are not raising them alone, that you are with us, and have put people in our lives who can help us to carry our burdens, to give us rest, and help us to appreciate the joys of being a parent.

Amen

Leave a Reply

