Wednesday – August 7, 2013; Luke 12:22-27

He said to his disciples, “Therefore I tell you, do not worry about your life, what you will eat, or about your body, what you will wear.  For life is more than food, and the body more than clothing.  Consider the ravens: they neither sow nor reap, they have neither storehouse nor barn, and yet God feeds them. Of how much more value are you than the birds!  And can any of you by worrying add a single hour to your span of life? If then you are not able to do so small a thing as that, why do you worry about the rest?  Consider the lilies, how they grow: they neither toil nor spin; yet I tell you, even Solomon in all his glory was not clothed like one of these.

Do Not Worry!

This can be hard advice to follow…

As parents it can seem like we have a lot to worry about; as single parents, we sometimes can feel like we are alone in our worrying about the kids’ school, their illnesses, upsets, messes, etc., we can also find ourselves worrying about the keeping the house clean, and all the chores that come along with that task.

One of the biggest worries we may have, is about money.  As for myself, I could not always count on the child support coming in the way it was supposed to, and had to limit the types of jobs I could take, as I could not put in a lot of over-time or travel very much; so I took lower paying jobs, and money was often tight.

Then, a few years ago, when my daughter was going through an extremely hard time in life, I spent a lot of time trying to help her make her way through these troubles.  As a result my work suffered and I found myself unemployed.  Since then I have struggled with having enough money to pay the mortgage and other household bills, buy clothes, pay doctor bills, and even buy food.

In the midst of these hard times there were many worries, and I found my faith tested, but it did not fail me…because God reached out to me through the help and support of others!  This support was not just financial, but also came from those who could only afford to give me a listening ear, some good advice, and encouragement when I needed it.

Through these people, I was reminded that God does watch over us all, and cares for us all, just like the ‘lilies of the fields’ providing us hope and support, right when and where we need it, in the midst of our daily lives!

The good news is that no matter what we are worried about, health, finances, relationships, etc., God’s love always surrounds us, offering us care and concern…weeping with us as we struggle, and rejoicing with us when times are good, as we celebrate the gifts of being a parent!!!

Let us Pray:

God, please let us remember that you are always with us, watching over us, caring for us and supporting us.  Thank you for those Angels in our lives who support us, love us, advise us and occasionally shove us in the right direction when needed.  Help us to reach out to others in need, sharing our wisdom and strength with them as well.

Amen

Leave a Reply

