Friday – August 9, 2013; Ecclesiastes 7:15-18

In my vain life I have seen everything; there are righteous people who perish in their righteousness, and there are wicked people who prolong their life in their evildoing. Do not be too righteous, and do not act too wise; why should you destroy yourself? Do not be too wicked, and do not be a fool; why should you die before your time? It is good that you should take hold of the one, without letting go of the other; for the one who fears God shall succeed with both.

We do not need to be reminded that life is not always fair.  There are times when it seems like the evil thrive, while those who are only seeking to do the next right thing pay a steep price for their integrity.

Taking on the responsibilities of a single parent was the right thing to do, although not always the easiest.  I have found myself feeling jealous of those who had a choice and decided to be weekend parents, they seemed to have so much freedom and time to themselves.  In my eyes they were not ‘burdened’ with the responsibilities I had.  They were able to take any job they wanted, without worrying about having to pick up their kids by 6pm from daycare, evening school events, etc., they could go out at night, have a social life, etc., while I was ‘stuck‘ taking care of my daughter.

Yes, I felt resentful, and sorry for myself…but then, one day I was playing with my daughter in the yard on a beautiful summer afternoon, and I knew that I had gotten the better part of the deal.  I had my daughter!  I had a gift that weekend parents could never know…the gift of being a full-time parent to my daughter, helping her to grow up and face the challenges of life.

Over the years, I have struggled with doing the ‘parenting thing’ on my own…but when I feel overwhelmed, I am reminded of how fortunate I am to have such a close relationship with my daughter, and how I am lucky to have good people in my life to help me through the rough times, the times of worry, and the times when life does not seem fair.

These people, and my daughter herself, remind me that while life is not always fair…God is more than fair, and carries us over the hardest parts of life, enabling us to continue moving forward, even if only one step at a time.

Let us Pray:

God, we know that life is not always fair, and sometimes it seems that doing the right thing only brings us more trouble, while those who fail to live up to their responsibilities seem to thrive.  Please help us to remember that doing the right thing brings it own rewards, like being able to spend time with our children, and to form a strong bond with them, and with those in our lives who offer their support and wisdom.

Amen

Leave a Reply

