Thursday – August 29, 2013; Proverbs 15:13-17

A glad heart makes a cheerful countenance, but by sorrow of heart the spirit is broken.
The mind of one who has understanding seeks knowledge, but the mouths of fools feed on folly.
All the days of the poor are hard, but a cheerful heart has a continual feast.
Better is a little with the fear of the Lord than great treasure and trouble with it.
Better is a dinner of vegetables where love is than a fatted ox and hatred with it.

We have heard of the power of positive thinking, and it is true, it helps to keep a good attitude, especially when times are tough…but it is often easier said than done.

When things are not going our way, when we feel like others are thriving while we struggle, when we feel worn out and overwhelmed by our responsibilities…it can be difficult to keep positive; to keep a glad heart.

As a single parent, it has often felt like there are not enough hours in the day to do all I need to do, not to mention do things that I wanted to do for myself and my daughter.  There have also been times when dinner was sparse and the bank accounts were empty, the apartment was dirty, and life felt unfair, and I felt anything but positive.

One Christmas, although I was working, I ran out of money due to paying my daycare bills (which I racked up due to working, which enabled me to pay for daycare, food, have health insurance, etc.), and facing the holiday broke I felt a great deal of despair, but I tried to keep positive for my daughter’s sake as I did not want to ruin her Christmas.  Then, out of the blue, someone delivered a tree along with presents for my daughter, leaving them on the front porch of our apartment!  This gave me hope, and reminded me of really mattered in life!

It was not money, or the things it can buy, but friendship, support and love…the grace of God as shown through the actions of others!  The love I felt for my daughter, and the fact that I was capable of caring for her as a single parent (even if I could not buy her everything I wanted to).

These are the things that matter most…and a reason to keep a cheerful heart: because God loves us and watches over us, providing us with comfort and support that helps us keep going when times are tough!  And, the next Christmas, I was able to give money to help another single parent in need, and to be able to help someone the way I was helped felt great!

Let us Pray:

God, please help us to remember what matters most in life; the love of our family and friends, and being immersed in your grace.  Help us to keep a glad heart in spite of any challenges we may face as single parents, and thank you for the hope you give us, through your love, the care of those around us, and the love of our children.

Amen

Leave a Reply

