Saturday – September 28, 2013; Ephesians 2:1-10

You were dead through the trespasses and sins in which you once lived, following the course of this world, following the ruler of the power of the air, the spirit that is now at work among those who are disobedient. All of us once lived among them in the passions of our flesh, following the desires of flesh and senses, and we were by nature children of wrath, like everyone else. 4 But God, who is rich in mercy, out of the great love with which he loved us even when we were dead through our trespasses, made us alive together with Christ—by grace you have been saved— and raised us up with him and seated us with him in the heavenly places in Christ Jesus, so that in the ages to come he might show the immeasurable riches of his grace in kindness toward us in Christ Jesus. For by grace you have been saved through faith, and this is not your own doing; it is the gift of God— not the result of works, so that no one may boast. For we are what he has made us, created in Christ Jesus for good works, which God prepared beforehand to be our way of life.

We have been given new lives as single parents, as we have started on a new path in life and we can see even more clearly how what we do has an impact on those around us and therefore, on the world as we watch our children grow.

I never expected to be a single parent; before I had a child to care for, I had trouble keeping plants alive, and was such a miserable owner that a cat I had rescued ran away rather than stay with me!  Then, less than ten years later, I found myself called to be a single parent to my lively two year old daughter!  Proof that God, does indeed have a sense of humor!

Becoming a single parent changed everything for me, as I assume it does for most other people who become single parents.  My life was turned upside down, and I had to start over in so many ways; being a single parent was the hardest, but the best thing I have every done in my life, and it changed me, and my daughter in so many ways.  I know she would have been a different person if she had been raised by two (sober) parents, and our relationship would have been different, as I doubt our bond as father and daughter would have been as strong.

Would that life have been better or worse…who knows?  In the end it doesn’t matter, it is what it is, and we have made the most of it…and continue to.

I received many gifts from this new direction my life took…like being able to re-learn the joy of play as I approached my 40’s!  Discovering the pleasure of a warm summer afternoon at the playground, a fall day at the lake, or a winter evening walk to hunt for bears who had decided not to hibernate!  Life as a single parent took me on trips of imagination as well as trips across town, the state, and the country!

Life as a single parent taught me that there are things more important to sacrifice for than a job…and financial or career rewards that I missed out on was more than made up for in extra time with my daughter!

Of course it was not all good, there also were some hard times…a few scary and even unpleasant times, but mostly they were busy times, with little opportunity for rest, and a lot of uncertainly!  Sometimes I felt lost…

But when I felt the most confused, tired and frustrated, there was good news!  The good news that we were not alone!  We had strong support from other parents, single and traditional, from family, friends, professionals, and all this support was a sign of God’s grace alive and active in our lives, and the world!  And it is this grace that transforms our lives and gives us strength to keep moving forward together as a family!

Let us Pray

God, thank you for the new lives you have given us…lives of faith, of responsibility and of joy!  Help us to make our way through the trials of parenting as a single parent, and to do the best we can for ourselves and our children!  Thank you that through those around us, your grace and love never ceases to support us as we journey through our lives together.

Amen

Leave a Reply

