Monday – September 30, 2013; Psalm 62: 5 – 8

For God alone my soul waits in silence,  for my hope is from him.
He alone is my rock and my salvation,  my fortress; I shall not be shaken.
On God rests my deliverance and my honor;  my mighty rock, my refuge is in God.

Trust in him at all times, O people; pour out your heart before him; God is a refuge for us.

Trust can sometimes be hard to come by…

As I have pointed out in the past, most of us did not choose to be single parents (but took up the responsibility when it was presented to us) and for some there is a difficult story behind our becoming single parents, story that have had an impact on our ability to trust others, even God.  At one point some of us may have felt like we have been betrayed by God, or at the very least felt like God was looking away from us when we needed his help.

But as it says in today’s reading…God never looks away, or abandons us!  God is trustworthy, steadfast and solidly loyal; our hope and salvation in what can be a difficult life!  God is our rock and our refuge when times are tough, even when it feels like we are all alone!

At times when I have felt like God was looking the other way, I discovered that God was really reaching out to me through others, including my daughter!

One cool fall morning, in the midst of a hectic morning, when I had to drop my daughter at daycare, then drive an hour to work, and was going to be late, I was letting the stress build up, and getting grouchy when I heard her say from the backseat “Look at the heart daddy!” I looked up to see that she was pointing to a heart that had formed on dew on the windshield; I told her I did see it, and she replied “That’s God saying he loves us!”

Those words made my day, by helping me to remember that God is always with us, never leaves our side, and is always there to protect us from the hardest bumps of life.

Let us Pray

Dear God, please let us remember that you are always with us, and never turn your back to us, especially when we are in need.  Let us see your presence in the love of family, friends, and our children.  Thank you for your protection and love, that gives us hope in the face of our sometimes difficult stories.

Amen

Leave a Reply

