Tuesday – October 15, 2013; Ephesians 6:18-20

Pray in the Spirit at all times in every prayer and supplication. To that end keep alert and always persevere in supplication for all the saints. Pray also for me, so that when I speak, a message may be given to me to make known with boldness the mystery of the gospel for which I am an ambassador in chains. Pray that I may declare it boldly, as I must speak.

I have found prayer to be an important part of every day life; and it is not just when things get crazy out of hand, or too intense that I find myself needing to turn to prayer, but it is also when I have to deal with just life on life’s terms – just dealing with the challenges of the ‘everyday’ that prayer comes in handy!

Daily life as a single parent (though I am sure it is true for any active and involved parent) can indeed be challenging, and there are times when I have felt lost and overwhelmed in the midst of an ordinary day, between work and taking care of my daughter (making sure she got to school, did her homework, got rides to her friends’ or to swim practice, etc.) as well as taking care of the many tasks that needed attention around my home.  Sometimes it all gets too much to handle and I feel I just need to stop for a moment and say a prayer…

Of course, my initial thought is to pray to God for all that I wanted to have happen that day, for a break, for at least one thing to work in my favor; but I have learned that prayer should not be viewed the same way as a child would view their list for Santa Claus!  This make prayer a little more challenging, something I really need to have faith for…to pray for God’s Will, without telling God what I think it should be!

When I can pray in faith for God’s Will to be done, I feel peace, if only while I am praying, but that is often enough to just keep going through my day, and to continue meeting the challenges it brings.

In fact, just the act of praying itself can bring peace, to take a few moments out to be calm and reconnect with God, can make all the difference in the midst of a hectic day.

It also helps when I can take time out to reconnect with others, to share our struggles and our faith, to be able to touch base with those who love and support me can leave me feeling refreshed and renewed, allowing me to be in a better place to be available for my daughter, for others, and for myself.

Let us Pray

God, please help us to make regular use of prayer and the meditation that comes with it.  Please help us to trust you to do your Will for us, rather than trying to tell you what we think it should be.  Thank you for your grace and presence in our lives, and in the lives of our children, and for the constant source of love that surrounds us through Christ.

Amen

Leave a Reply

