Tuesday – October 29, 2013; 1 Samuel 2:1-2

Hannah prayed and said,

“My heart exults in the Lord; my strength is exalted in my God.
My mouth derides my enemies, because I rejoice in my victory.

“There is no Holy One like the Lord, no one besides you;
    there is no Rock like our God.

God IS our Rock!

Hannah was the mother of Samuel and this is a parent’s prayer of gratitude for God’s grace and power in both her and her son’s life. I believe it is also a prayer of dedication and of hope, as Hannah gave up her son to the service of God, both a great honor and a great loss for her as a mother; in this sense, the prayer also becomes one of hope.

As a single father, I have a often prayed for my daughter…I have said prayers of thanks for the happiness we had when playing together, and then also prayed for her to make good choices in life.  As she grew older and spent more time away from home, I would pray on the nights when I was worried about where she was, what she was doing and when (or whether) she would come home.

And these prayers continue…

Worrying about our kids does not end with childhood, my daughter is now a young adult, and very much out of my control (but not always beyond my influence) and I find myself worrying even more often than when she was younger, and now I have more serious things to be concerned about!

So I still pray for her to make good choices, and to find happiness, and to stay safe even when she seems to have little interest in playing it safe…and when she comes home safe and sound, I say a prayer of thanks…similar to the prayer that Hannah prays in today’s reading!!!

When she comes home less than ‘sound’ I still thank God that she is home, and pray for strength and support, and for God’s grace to touch her.

Prayer helps, it can give us strength in the face of fear worry, hope when things really do go badly for ourselves and our children; and a way to praise God when the crisis passes.  I believe Hannah knew this, as good parent…and in many ways, as a single parent.

Let us Pray

God let us never forget to give you the praise you are due…both when things go well, and for getting us through times that simply don’t go our way.  Thank you for watching over our children, please keep them safe and sound, and they (or we) fall short, let us remember that you are always a source of strength for us all, both directly and through the love and compassion of others.

Amen

Leave a Reply

