Thursday – October 31, 2013; Romans 3:21-26

But now, apart from law, the righteousness of God has been disclosed, and is attested by the law and the prophets, the righteousness of God through faith in Jesus Christ for all who believe. For there is no distinction, since all have sinned and fall short of the glory of God; they are now justified by his grace as a gift, through the redemption that is in Christ Jesus, whom God put forward as a sacrifice of atonement by his blood, effective through faith. He did this to show his righteousness, because in his divine forbearance he had passed over the sins previously committed; it was to prove at the present time that he himself is righteous and that he justifies the one who has faith in Jesus.

As single parents we have dedicated a big part of our lives to caring for our children; which is what we are supposed to do, but sometimes this can be leave us feeling frustrated…especially when they do not act as we would like them to, when they fall short of our expectations.

The truth is that Paul was right, we all fall short at times; we have all done things that we regret, we have all  had times when we disappointed someone…and this is because none of us are perfect, but that is alright, because we are loved and forgiven in spite of our failings.

This is the good news: that we do not have to worry if we do occasionally fall short, because God loves us just as we are and right where we are, just like a perfect parent would!

As for me, I am far from being a perfect parent and I get annoyed with my daughter, her friends, my friends, strangers, customers, other drivers, co-workers, and even at my ‘ex’ at times; and when I get so annoyed I can find myself caught up in justifiable anger, which is seldom a good thing — as it can cause me to act in a very unflattering way!  However, I am learning to take heed of any anger that I feel I need to justify, and when I find myself getting caught up I make an effort to stop to say a prayer and to remind myself of my own imperfection, how I too have often fallen short, and have been annoying to others (like when I get caught up in justifiable anger).

When we see how we have fallen short, it is easier to forgive those who have wronged us, to let go of our anger, and to also ask to be forgiven for our own failings…when we do these things, we are living our faith out loud, the faith that we are called to share, the faith that we are living in the light of Easter and immersed in grace, which justifies and forgives, and calls us all to come together as well loved children of God.

Let us Pray

God thank you for forgiveness…please help us to share this forgiveness with the others in our lives: our children, family, friends and strangers.  Thank you for the gift of grace and new life that you have given to us in Christ, and please help us to carry out his ministry of reconciliation that can heal relationships broken because we have all fallen short of your glory.
 
Amen

Leave a Reply

