Thursday – November 14, 2013; Psalm 98: 1-3

O sing to the Lord a new song, for he has done marvelous things.
His right hand and his holy arm have gotten him victory.
The Lord has made known his victory; he has revealed his vindication in the sight of the nations.
He has remembered his steadfast love and faithfulness to the house of Israel.
All the ends of the earth have seen the victory of our God.

The Lord HAS done marvelous things…we can see this whenever we look at our children, and how amazing it is to help them to grow!

We can also see the marvelous (and mysterious) actions of God when we take a look at ourselves as single parents!

Before I was a parent, even before I was married, I would meet single parents, or see them depicted on television or in movies, and I would be amazed at their strength; I would think “I could never do that!”, never dreaming that I would one day be a single parent myself!

In my younger days I was pretty irresponsible, and did not think I could handle the responsibilities of parenthood, I even had trouble taking care of a pet cat, so I knew I would be a bad father; however, I got older, and I got sober and more responsible, and learned to take responsibility, and I also came back to my faith!

Although I had matured, when watching my nieces and nephews, I often still felt like there was no way I could handle parenthood.  I did not have the patience or the skills, and was always glad when their parents showed up to take over!

When my daughter was born, I began to really learn about parenthood, and was relieved to find out that I was not as hopeless as I thought I would be, I even spent time alone with her, but I still felt better when it was two of us taking care of her, and not just one!

Then, when I became a single parent, I felt overwhelmed by my responsibilities, and was very anxious about whether or not I could actually parent on my own, so I prayed a lot, asked for help from the people around me, and took things one day at a time, and before I knew it, I was managing!  It was not easy, and the teen years have been a real challenge, but I have been able to hang in there and take care of my daughter, raise her and try to teach her how to face the world on her own.

I have come to see the fact that I have been able to be a single parent as nothing short of miraculous, and one of the many marvelous things God has done for me, and my daughter.

We are all marvels of God’s love and grace; and while sometimes it may feel as if we cannot do this single parenting thing on our own, the good news is that we do not have to, as God is always with us, both in spirit and in the friendship and support of those around us: family, friends, strangers and professionals.

Our children are marvelous; and they can be our song to the world, a song of God’s grace and goodness…our gift to the world, as well as god’s gift to us.

Let us Pray

God thank you for the many marvels you have done for us in our lives; please help us to care for our most precious ones: our children, no matter what their age!  Help us also to remember to care for ourselves, and to reach out to others for help and support when needed.  Let us remember that we are all part of the same song…the song of your glory, the song that proclaims that you are marvelous!

Amen

Leave a Reply

