Sunday – July 13, 2014

Proverbs 3:5

Trust in the Lord with all your heart, and do not rely on your own insight.

Sometimes it is hard for me to trust God…and even harder for me to be patient with God…as too often I want what I want, when I want it! So at times I simply lose my patience and just do things my own way…

It would be great to have been able to take the time to think through every decision that I have had to make…but as a single parent I have often had to make quick decisions, when I did not have the time to ask for advice, and then of course there were times when I was busy or stressed, and acted without thinking through the impact of my choices, or turning the results over to the care of God.

Many of these spur of the moment decisions have not worked out well for my daughter ad me, as they have led to serious difficulties in our lives: from financial and legal issues to relationship and personal problems.

What seemed to be the right thing to do at the time I made the decision, in fact turned out badly for us, leaving me a more of a mess to deal with, as well as a lot of regret.

The good news is that God surrounds us with grace, which helps us to survive our bad choices…and is also with us to help make better decisions in our lives.

When the decisions I have made have gone wrong, I have had my faith in God’s love to give me comfort and support…as well as the presence of other people of faith, those who care for me, and who I care for…who have helped me to “fix” things, or at least have given me the tools to help me deal with the fall-out.

And best of all…when I am able to take time to stop and think before I act (and even sometimes when I do not want to think) there are people in my life who can help me make better choices. When I knew my marriage was over and I had to leave it, I had many people in my life who offered me help and advice and helped me make this change the best way possible…it was not easy, nor fun, but thanks to the people who helped me, and a lot of prayer, we all got through the end of the marriage, and were able to move on with our lives…and still not hate each other.

There were other times when God seemed to intervene in my life, even without me asking…like earlier this year, when my daughter was having some problems that I did not know how to address…when all my ‘single parenting’ experience and judgment failed me…then she wound up getting into more trouble, which got the attention of local law enforcement. I was at the end of my rope and was about to just give up; instead I turned the situation over to God’s care…and I prayed, and talked to those I trusted, and got help taking care of myself (a novel idea for me as a single parent – when I was used to trying to take care of my daughter first); then a miracle happened: my daughter asked for assistance to help herself, and she made positive changes that improved all of our lives.

Even if she does not want to admit it, I believe my daughter was taken up in God’s loving embrace and surrounded by God’s healing grace, and God was able to do for her, what I could not!

Despite all of my best efforts to help her, it was only when I was on the verge of giving up that I finally trusted God enough to take care of my daughter when I could not.

It is too bad that it is often only when we have all but given up that we can finally trust God…instead it would be best if we could trust God all the time…but this takes practice, and for me, it will take a lot of practice because I am stubborn, and have to work on trust.

Yet, God is worthy of our trust…as hard as it may sometimes be…our faith can help us to trust that God is always watching out for us, and always wants what is best for all of us who…just as we always want what is best for our children, as we are all well-loved children of God.

And with all of the responsibility we have as single parents…it can be a relief for us to let go and let God…trusting God to take charge so that we don’t have too.

Let us Pray:

God, help us to always trust you…to remember that you always want what is best for us. Let us take the time to turn our decisions, will and lives…and the lives of our children…over to your caring love. Thank your for always being there for us, your children, and for always loving us and watching over us; and for doing things that we cannot do. Please help us to share your love and faith with each our children and each other.

Amen

Leave a Reply

