Thursday – February 4, 2016: Being Known

 

 

Jeremiah 1:4-5

Now the word of the Lord came to me saying,

“Before I formed you in the womb I knew you, and before you wereknown born I consecrated you; I appointed you a prophet to the nations.”

Today’s lesson speaks of God’s great gift of love for us…love that we have no choice in, just as our children have no choice in how much we love them! Just as many of us have felt, God loved us even before we were formed, and chose to make us part of the family, a gift given freely to us through God’s grace which shines out to us through the love we share together!

Being chosen to be part of a family is really a great gift. As an adoptee, I know this gift first hand, and am grateful that it takes more than biology to make a family.  It reminds me that my family wanted me to become one of them, welcomed me into their lives, and have shown me love and compassion, and honesty that has often caused me to forget the whole “adopted’ label!

As a single parent, I have had the gift of forming a strong bond with the only person in the world that I know that I am biologically related to! However, the whole single parent experience has opened my world and my heart to see how my family is so much larger than I ever could have imagined!

As reluctant as I have been to ask others for help, I have often found myself with no other choice but to reach out to others. At other times, I have had help thrust upon me, when ‘others’ saw that I was in over my head.  Often this was given to me by my family, at other times by friends or parents of my daughter’s friends.   This help and support has expanded my horizons, and who I consider to be like family for me!

This has helped when I have been down, and wanted to isolate, and I got a call or a text or made myself get out to reconnect with the people in my life who have helped me so much! This works both ways too…as I can find myself helping other people as much as they have helped me.  This can also get me out of my own head!

At this stage in my life, this has even worked with my daughter, as she has helped me get off the ‘pity-pot’ and to have faith, just as I have offered her love and support throughout her life. This is how a family supports each other and shows love for each other…not matter who are family is!

And knowing that we are all connected, all children of God, makes our family so much bigger, and reminds us that we are never alone, no matter where life leads us, we are always immersed in God’s grace and surrounded by the love of God as shared with all those in our lives! Living in the light of this gift, and knowing that we have been loved by God…forever…like we have loved our own children, we are given the strength and support to face the challenges of facing life on life’s terms as a single parent, and as a member of the family!

Let Us Pray:

Dear God, thank you for making us part of the family…for loving us even before we existed, and thank you that this love is everlasting! Please let us remember that we are loved, known and never alone as we raise our children and live our lives in this challenging world!  Help us to share this love and grace together, as we are part of the same family; remembering that helping others is a great way to reset our mood and to give us hope and strength when both feel in short supply!

Amen

Leave a Reply

